This Side, The Other Side

So, the opening of The Culture City 2011 was yesterday evening, and it happened at a temperature of minus 15. The river Aurajoki was completely frozen and there were entire crowds standing on the ice, but thankfully it didn’t snow. The event took place at the Marine Museum by the river, and there were performances such as aerobics and choir… and fireworks! The fireworks were the one thing I went to see and photograph, but unfortunately the programme had the fireworks to the last, and thus I had to wait for an hour in the crazy winter.

While I waited, though, I set up the tripod and adjusted the exposures. I also took some long exposure photos of the people heading towards the museum. It was like watching a major migration going on.

And then at last, the fireworks!!

I’m truly grateful that my ancient camera was able to function at such a cold occasion… and also glad that I had a spare battery.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

